Best Free AI API 2026: 6 Picks Compared

Best Free AI API 2026: 6 Picks Compared

We compared the best free AI APIs for indie hackers in 2026, covering limits and card requirements so you can pick the right provider without surprises.

free-tierai-apicomparisonroundupindie-hackers

Best Free AI API 2026: 6 Picks Compared

Indie hackers and bootstrappers know the pain: AI API free tiers shift monthly, signup flows hide credit-card traps, and “free” often means “free until you blink.” We compared the six best free AI APIs in 2026 — Google Gemini API, Groq, OpenRouter, Cloudflare Workers AI, Mistral, and Hugging Face Inference Providers — so you can spot real limits, model access, and hidden costs without guessing. This is a verdict-first guide: the winner, the runner-up, and the niche picks are all below.

Our Verdict: Google Gemini API Wins the Free Tier

Google Gemini API wins the 2026 free tier for indie hackers: it is the only provider giving free access to genuinely frontier-grade Flash models (3.7/3.5 Flash) with free input+output tokens, no credit card, and multimodal coverage — enough to run a real MVP Gemini API pricing. Groq is the runner-up for token throughput at $0 Groq rate limits docs, and Cloudflare Workers AI is the best whole-stack pick since one free account also hosts the app Cloudflare Workers AI pricing. OpenRouter is the best utility (free model shopping) OpenRouter FAQ, and Mistral and Hugging Face free tiers are real but small Mistral pricing Hugging Face Inference Providers pricing.

How This Guide Was Built

This roundup is based on official documentation, pricing pages, and community reports — we did not run the tools hands-on. We verified free-tier limits, signup flow, and credit card requirements directly from each provider’s docs. We did not test latency, output quality, or production reliability. Last verified: August 2026.

Free AI API Limits at a Glance

Picking a free AI API means trading off model quality, token quotas, and rate limits — all of which change fast. Below is the verbatim snapshot of the six providers we compared on signup friction and real-world usability. Use it to shortlist before you build.

Provider Free models Free quota (exact) Rate limits CC required Best for
Google Gemini API Gemini 3.7 Flash, 3.5 Flash, 2.5 Flash, 2.5 Flash-Lite Free input & output tokens on eligible models; exact RPM/TPM/RPD per project in AI Studio Per-model RPM/TPM/RPD (per project); RPD resets midnight PT No Most capable free models (text/vision/audio/image)
Groq gpt-oss-120b/20b, qwen3.6-27b, groq/compound, whisper-large-v3-turbo, orpheus TTS Base limits free; Developer plan = paid upgrade e.g. gpt-oss-120b: 30 RPM / 1K RPD / 8K TPM / 200K TPD; whisper: 20 RPM / 2K RPD No Blazing-fast free inference for chat/agents
OpenRouter Hundreds of :free variants (llama, qwen, mistral, gemma…) 50 free requests/day; 1,000/day after buying ≥$10 credits 50 or 1,000 free-model requests/day No One key to test many models, easy vendor swaps
Cloudflare Workers AI llama-3.1-8b, llama-3.3-70b, deepseek-v4-flash, gemma-3-12b, flux-1-schnell, whisper… 10,000 Neurons/day + 100,000 Workers req/day Text gen 300 RPM; embeddings 3,000 RPM; frontier models 20 RPM No LLM + hosting + embeddings + images in one free edge stack
Mistral Small 4, Medium 3.5, Large 3, Ministral 3B/8B/14B, Codestral Free plan incl. $10/mo Studio API credits (per pricing page) Not published on pricing page — do not invent Not stated Monthly free API credit allowance, EU-based vendor
Hugging Face Inference Providers 200+ models via InferenceClient (DeepSeek-V3, FLUX.1…) $0.10/month free credits (free users); $2/mo on PRO Credit-bounded (no separate RPM published) No Trying open models; pair with free Spaces/ZeroGPU

Google Gemini API

Google Gemini API gives new accounts free input and output tokens on eligible Flash models — Gemini 3.7 Flash, 3.5 Flash, 2.5 Flash, and 2.5 Flash-Lite — with no credit card required to start Gemini API pricing. New accounts begin on the Free Tier, which allows access to certain models up to the models’ free tier rate limits Gemini API billing docs. Rate limits are RPM/TPM/RPD per project; RPD resets midnight Pacific; per-model numbers are NOT published publicly — shown per project in AI Studio Gemini API rate limits docs. Free-tier content “used to improve our products: Yes” Gemini API pricing. No credit card; paid tier requires linking billing with a minimum $10 prepay Gemini API billing docs.

Pros: Genuinely frontier-grade Flash models free; multimodal (text/vision/audio/image); no credit card. Cons: Per-model rate limits not published publicly; free-tier data may improve Google products. Pick if… you want the most capable free models for a real MVP. Avoid if… you need transparent per-model RPM numbers upfront.

See our full breakdown in our Google Gemini API free tier guide and Gemini’s directory entry.

Groq

Groq offers free base limits across its open-model lineup including gpt-oss-120b, gpt-oss-20b, qwen3.6-27b, groq/compound, and whisper-large-v3-turbo, with no credit card required for the base free tier Groq models docs. Free base limits for gpt-oss-120b, gpt-oss-20b, gpt-oss-safeguard-20b, qwen3.6-27b equal 30 RPM / 1,000 RPD / 8K TPM / 200K TPD Groq rate limits docs. groq/compound and groq/compound-mini run at 30 RPM / 250 RPD / 70K TPM Groq rate limits docs. whisper-large-v3 and v3-turbo (STT) are limited to 20 RPM / 2K RPD, while canopylabs/orpheus (TTS) allows 10 RPM / 100 RPD Groq rate limits docs. The Developer plan is a paid upgrade for higher limits, Batch, and Flex Groq rate limits docs.

Pros: Fastest token throughput at $0; clear, published rate limits; no credit card. Cons: Lower TPM ceilings than paid tiers; commercial-use terms not stated in official docs. Pick if… you need fast inference for chat agents. Avoid if… you need high TPM for long-context workloads.

Read more in our Groq free tier guide and Groq’s directory entry.

OpenRouter

OpenRouter gives access to hundreds of :free model variants across llama, qwen, mistral, and gemma families, all routed through a single free-models router called openrouter/free OpenRouter free models guide. Free models are rate-limited to 50 requests per day total for new users OpenRouter FAQ. If you have purchased at least 10 credits, your free model rate limit becomes 1,000 requests per day OpenRouter FAQ. No credit card is needed for the free allowance; credits purchase has a 5.5% fee with a $0.80 minimum OpenRouter FAQ. Commercial use is allowed, though free models are “usually not suitable for production use” as a rate-limit caveat, not a license restriction OpenRouter FAQ.

Pros: One key to test many models; easy vendor swaps; no credit card. Cons: Very low daily request cap; free models not production-suitable. Pick if… you’re comparing models quickly. Avoid if… you need sustained daily throughput.

See our OpenRouter free tier guide and OpenRouter’s directory entry.

Cloudflare Workers AI

Cloudflare Workers AI gives 10,000 Neurons/day free on both Workers Free and Paid plans, resetting at 00:00 UTC, with overages on Paid billed at $0.011 per 1,000 Neurons Cloudflare Workers AI pricing. The Workers Free plan also includes 100,000 requests/day and 10 ms CPU per invocation Cloudflare Workers pricing. Task rate limits are Text Generation 300 RPM, Text Embeddings 3,000 RPM, ASR 720 RPM, Text-to-Image 720 RPM, and frontier models (kimi-k2.6, glm-5.2) at 20 RPM Cloudflare Workers AI limits docs. Free models include llama-3.1-8b, llama-3.3-70b, deepseek-v4-flash, gemma-3-12b, flux-1-schnell, and whisper Cloudflare Workers AI pricing. No credit card is required for the Free plan.

Pros: LLM + hosting + embeddings + image gen in one free edge stack; no credit card. Cons: Neuron-based billing can be confusing; frontier models capped at 20 RPM. Pick if… you want to host your app and run AI on one free account. Avoid if… you need high RPM on frontier models.

Mistral

Mistral’s free plan includes limited Vibe (chat/coding agent) access plus Mistral Studio with $10 per month in API credits, while Pro costs $30 per month Mistral pricing. Free API endpoints are labs-leanstral-2603 and mistral-moderation-2603 Mistral API pricing. Free models available via Studio and API credits include Mistral Small 4, Medium 3.5, Large 3, Ministral 3B, 8B, 14B, and Codestral Mistral API pricing. Credit card requirement is NOT stated on the official pricing page, so it is written as “not stated” here Mistral API pricing. Commercial use is also NOT stated on the official pricing page Mistral API pricing.

Pros: Monthly free API credit allowance; EU-based vendor; clear free endpoints. Cons: No published rate limits; credit card and commercial use not stated. Pick if… you want predictable monthly credits and EU hosting. Avoid if… you need transparent rate limits or commercial clarity.

Hugging Face Inference Providers

Hugging Face gives free users $0.10 per month in Inference Providers credits, with PRO at $2.00 per month Hugging Face Inference Providers pricing. Credits apply to HF-routed requests and cover 200+ models accessible via InferenceClient, including DeepSeek-V3 and FLUX.1-dev Hugging Face Inference Providers pricing. No credit card is required Hugging Face pricing. Free users also get Spaces CPU Basic and ZeroGPU hardware access Hugging Face Inference Providers pricing. Best for trying open models and pairing with free Spaces or ZeroGPU for deployment.

Pros: No credit card; pairs with free Spaces and ZeroGPU; wide open-model catalog. Cons: Tiny monthly credit pool; no separate RPM published. Pick if… you want to experiment with open models. Avoid if… you need sustained inference volume.

Dropped in 2026

GitHub Models was fully retired on July 30, 2026, removing the playground, model catalog, inference API, and BYOK features GitHub Models docs. Cerebras has no permanent free tier; its Free Trial grants $5 in credits expiring 30 days after issuance, requires a verified payment method, and caps gpt-oss-120b and gemma-4-31b at 5 RPM / 30K TPM / 1M TPH / 1M TPD Cerebras rate limits FAQ. Both were removed from our shortlist because they no longer offer reliable free access for indie hackers.

FAQ

Is the Gemini API free tier really free?

Yes, the Gemini API Free Tier gives new accounts free input and output tokens on eligible Flash models — Gemini 3.7 Flash, 3.5 Flash, 2.5 Flash, and 2.5 Flash-Lite — with no credit card required to begin Gemini API pricing. New accounts begin on the Free Tier, which allows access to certain models up to the models’ free tier rate limits Gemini API billing docs. A paid tier exists but requires linking billing with a minimum $10 prepayment Gemini API billing docs.

Which free AI API has the highest limits?

Cloudflare Workers AI leads on daily compute volume with 10,000 Neurons/day plus 100,000 Workers requests/day, all on the Free plan Cloudflare Workers AI pricing. Groq publishes the clearest per-model rate limits, such as gpt-oss-120b at 30 RPM / 1,000 RPD / 8K TPM / 200K TPD Groq rate limits docs. OpenRouter tops out at 50 requests/day for new users, rising to 1,000/day after a $10 credit purchase OpenRouter FAQ.

Do I need a credit card for a free AI API?

No, none of the six providers on this list require a credit card to access their free tier Gemini API billing docs Groq models docs OpenRouter FAQ Cloudflare Workers pricing Hugging Face pricing. Mistral’s credit card requirement is not stated on its official pricing page, so treat it as not stated rather than confirmed Mistral API pricing. Always check the provider’s docs before signing up, since policies can change.